Photo Not Available Jacobs School of Engineering Awards: Professor Patrick Fox Best Teacher Award 2011-2012”

Dean Juan Lasheras presented Professor Patrick Fox with the "Best Teacher Award for 2011-2012".

Photo Not Available SE Undergraduate Student receives first place in the 2013 National Daniel W. Mead Student Contest

Undergraduate student Ameeta Kunnath has received first place in the 2013 National Daniel W.

Photo Not Available SE Professor Receives Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Hyonny Kim has received the 2013 Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award for Structural Engineering.  The AS Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes the recipient's excellent contributions to the educational mission of UCSD.

Photo Not Available JSOE 2013 Professor of the Year Award: SE Professor, Dr. John Kosmatka

Dr. John Kosmatka was selected by over 300 undergraduate students participating in this year's Jacobs Ring Ceremony as the 2013 Professor of the Year.

Photo Not Available SE Research Group Receives Best Paper Award at the 9th International Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring

Professor Francesco Lanza di Scalea and his students Stefano Mariani, Thompson Nguyen, Robert Phillips, Piotr Kijanka of UCSD and Wieslaw Staszewski of AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland, received the Best Paper Award at the 9th Inte

Photo Not Available Jacobs School of Engineering Best Teacher Award

Dean Albert Pisano presented Professor Benson Shing with the 2012-2013 Best Teacher Award. 

Photo Not Available Shaina Nocum - 2014 ASCE Student Leadership Award

The ASCE Student Leadership Award is granted to an ASCE Student Member who has demonstrated leadership in a Student Chapter/International Student Group through various activities (e.g., service as an officer, leading special events, interaction wi

Photo Not Available Science and Engineering Library Award for Best Use of Literature , 2014 JSOE Research Expo: Marco Simone Pigazzini

Graduate Student, Marco Simone Pigazzini received the Science and Engineering Library Award for Best Use of Literature at the JSOE 2014 Research Expo.  Marco's poster was entitled, Impact on Water of Aircraft Structures: A Review.

Photo Not Available SE Department Best Poster Award for the 2014 JSOE Research Expo: Edouard Marc Yreux and Michael Hillman

SE Graduate Student, Edouard Marc Yreux , and SE Postdoctoral Researcher, Dr.

Patrick Fox SE Professor Appointed to Board of Governors, ASCE Geo-Institute

Professor Patrick Fox has been appointed to the Board of Governors of the Geo-Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), effective October 2014.

Photo Not Available Mary Faith Silva, SE Undergrad, Receives over $22,000 in Scholarships!

Mary Faith Silva, currently a senior in the SE Department, has received over $22,000 in graduate scholarships!

Faith will be attending UC Berkeley in the Fall.


California Homebuilding Foundation $15,000

Weian Liu SE Postdoctoral Researcher Receives 2013 National Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Chinese Students Studying Abroad

Structural Engineering Postdoctoral Researcher, Dr. Weian Liu, received the 2013 National Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Chinese Students Studying Abroad.

Photo Not Available SE Graduate Student Awarded Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Scholarship (ARCS)

SE graduate student, Christine Wittich, received the 2014-2015 Achievement Rewards for College Scientists scholarship.  These scholarships reward excellence in research.

Photo Not Available Kimberly Bowes Receives 2014 WTS OC Scholarship!

Kimberly Bowes, current Structural Engineering BS/MS student, has been selected to receive a $5,000 scholarship from the Orange County Chapter of WTS.

Photo Not Available Professor Chia-Ming Uang Wins 2015 AISC T.R. Higgins Award

SE Professor, Chia-Ming Uang, is the recipient of the 2015 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Awarded, presented annually by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC).  “Dr.

Photo Not Available Alexander Jai-Syn Chen Receives ACEC Public Works Scholarship!

Alexander Jai-Syn Chen, a current junior in Structural Engineering, has received a $1,000 scholarship from ACEC PublicWorks! 

Yuri Bazilev SE Professor selected as Fellow of the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics

Professor Yuri Bazilevs has been selected as Fellow of the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics in recognition of contributions to the field of Computational Mechanics. The award will be formally announced during the 13th U.S.

Photo Not Available Kayse Sheppard receives the 2015 Structural Engineering Department Excellence Award

Graduating senior, Kayse Sheppard, receives the Structural Engineering Department's 2015 Excellence Award! 

Kayse was presented with a glass award at the 9th annual Jacobs School of Engineering Ring Ceremony held on Saturday, June 13.

Michael Todd Professor Michael D.Todd: Recipient of the 2016 D.J. DeMichele Award from the Society of Experimental Mechanics

Professor Michael D.Todd will receive the 2016 D.J. DeMichele Award from the the Society of Experimental Mechanics. This award, established in 1990 in honor of Dominick J.